Tiles Update, 4-26-11

I have decided to cancel the tile project.

In getting this project off the ground I talked to a number of Japanese people, going over the idea and getting feedback on if it was somehow crossing some kind of line that would put people off. All indications were that it wouldn’t. The reaction I got yesterday in my meeting with some calligraphers suggested otherwise. I don’t have the energy or desire to press forward into the cultural wilderness and all the weirdness that entails. For those reasons  I’ve decided to refund the money that has been donated and not finish the tile project. It would take more time to complete it from this point than I have put in so far.  I have about 80 hours and 450 kilos of clay invested at this point. I don’t have an additional 80 hours and the energy it would take to finish it.

Thank you to everyone who sent emails of support and donated.

4 Responses to “Tiles Update, 4-26-11”

  1. Douglas Says:

    Dearest David, It would be my honor if you were to keep my donation as an expression of my appreciation for your attempt to honor so many innocent lives. Your heart is so beautiful.
    Love,
    Douglas

    • togeii Says:

      Thanks Douglas,
      I have already sent you the refund. There were 2 people that I couldn’t send refunds and they have indicated I should donate it to the Japanese Red Cross.
      Dave

  2. rob Says:

    Thank you for the effort David and your heart was in the right place…. the cultural differences can’t be helped.

    Best,
    R

Leave a Reply

