Update on tiles, 4-25-11

I just got back from a meeting with the calligraphy group. I had an intuition that they weren’t really interested in participating and that turned out to be true. I faced a lot of  questioning about my motivation, my authority to do such a project, some about timing and some about why I would be interested in doing such a project. Aside from the annoyance of having taken 2 hours out of my day it was very interesting to listen to how the project was perceived. It was not possible to convince the main person that I am primarily interested in doing something beyond giving money. When asked about if I had gotten proper authority I realized it was futile to continue explaining the project and bowed out.

Plan B.

I am going to crowd source it here in Japan. I will also change the writing of the names to their ABC’s rendering. That will open up the field of who I can ask to write the names.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

