Porcelain.

I am about to start my next series of throwing for a Nanban firing. As a break  I made a kiln load of porcelain work. I used 2 types of porcelain. The first is a run of the mill type. Most of what I made split and I almost gave up. I am not used to how temperamental the drying can be. The other type is a mixture of a traditionally processed body from Kyushu, Amakusa porcelain, mixed 50/50 with a material I dug in Kyoto about 5 years ago. The Kyoto material is a very sandy clay that is almost impossible to throw pure. It used to be used in the area I dug it but was depleted to the point the kilns shut down. A construction project exposed a couple of seams of it and I went out and picked up about a ton.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

