Raw clay.

Today I went to get clay from a stockpile I keep. I have about 20 tons, more or less, that I bought some years ago. It is from Awaji Shima. The clay from Awaji is a little rougher than the clay I have here I use for Nanban. Here at my house I have about 13 tons of clay from Minakuchi in Shiga. The clay I got today is for my firing I am planning in March. In a perfect world I will fire both my snake kiln and my noborigama at that time.

The pictures of the clay in the bag shows about 1,300 kilograms. I haven’t weighed it but am guessing an average weight of 30 kg. per bag * 40 bags.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

