Nanban kiln 10-1-10

My plan is to start the fire in the kiln Sunday the 3rd. or Monday the 4th. Through a series of coincidences, and a wifestyle choice, I will be without an assistant till Saturday the 9th. Since it isn’t possible to fire for a full week alone I am going to try a method I have read about. Abe Anjin talks often about firing during the day, closing up the kiln at night and getting a good nights sleep. That is what I will try.

Here are some pictures of the back of the kiln. I am using large handmade bricks to close the back of the kiln. They are much lighter than they look. I have also built a baffle wall in front of the exit flues.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Nanban kiln 10-1-10”

  1. ted Says:

    When we used to help Ezaki Mitsuru with his firing, we’d go around the clock for days. He’d get 6 -10 people to come up to his place in Ishikawa, to ensure everyone got sleep, food, breaks, etc., It was really fun and all completely casual. It was wonderful to eat and sleep when the body dictated it, rather than at the usual habitual times. It is surprisingly easy to sleep a few hours, work 6, sleep 3 more…

    You ought to think about making it a fun, camp-out type of thing and enlist some friends. Were I still in Japan, I’d love to help out.

  2. togeii Says:

    Hello Ted,
    I didn’t know “Notes from the Nog” was written by a guy named Ted so Hello Ted.
    I met Ezaki at a show he did at Moon. Nice guy. One of the most intense Japanese people I have met. I can still hear his booming voice, seemingly on the verge of tears, as he told me stories of his move to Ishikawa. I hope we are talking about the same Ezaki.
    I actually prefer smaller firings. As the number of helpers grows the role I play changes. When I fire I spend the majority of the critical times watching the flames, the flow of the fire in and back out of the kiln, the chimney, the general atmosphere, etc. With too many helpers I spend my time talking, answering questions, directing wood, etc. I don’t prefer firing alone but as you know from living in Japan working as an artist can sometimes be like living as a monk in a cave.
    Dave

  3. bill Says:

    I particularly like this response:
    I actually prefer smaller firings. As the number of helpers grows the role I play changes. When I fire I spend the majority of the critical times watching the flames, the flow of the fire in and back out of the kiln, the chimney, the general atmosphere, etc. With too many helpers I spend my time talking, answering questions, directing wood, etc.

    I too feel the same way.

    How is the firing today?

    • togeii Says:

      Hello Bill,
      Thank you for the comment.
      The kiln is still over 100 C. so I haven’t opened it yet. I am hoping to get it open in the next couple of days.
      Dave

Leave a Reply

