Wood Firer?

I don’t identify as a Wood Firer. That is to say I don’t have an identity as a Wood Firer. I do fire exclusively with wood. But I don’t have a  badge that reads “I fire with Wood”.

It seems like a small and unimportant distinction but realizing it has helped me realize why I generally don’t relate that well to the “Wood Firers” movement. I use wood as a means to get a quality of atmosphere and finish in the kiln and the work that I don’t think can be achieved any other way. I don’t pursue the typical look associated with wood fired pottery simply because it doesn’t appeal to me. I do enjoy looking at and the touch of well fired Shigaraki or Bizen work but it makes my teeth hurt to think that since I fire with wood that is the aesthetic I need to go towards.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

