New books.

These are 3 books I bought recently. They are all on Imari. I really like blue and white Imari. I like the colored work but not as much as the simple work.

The first book is an overview of work from Hizen. The closeup is of a plate I bought at auction, the first thing I ever bid on.

The second book is called Ko Imari Patterns. It is full of patterns you will find on work from old kilns in the Hizen area. They made an attempt to translate the pattern groupings into English.

The last book is a “dictionary” of Imari cups, sobachoko. I really like sobachoko and am completely confused at why the price for some shoot through the roof at auction. This should help me.

I have taken pictures of the ISBN numbers if anyone wants to try to buy them.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

