Japanese red pine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yesterday I went to the mountains to take a look at my next big chore. I get all my red pine from the mountains for free. Free as in I go and use my time and I don’t get charged for the wood. I have used other wood but haven’t found one with the long flame I get from the local pine. I did use North American pine once and might use it again in the future. I found it to have very light ash that flies around in the kiln, something not desirable with Nanban ware. It will take me about 6 months of  going to get this wood 3-4 times a week to get enough for a couple of years worth of firing. I love the exercise for the first hour. From the 61st minute mark I start questioning the reason for my existence and wondering if I should have gone on to get a masters degree in something and taken an easier job.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Japanese red pine.”

  1. Lee Love Says:

    Is the blight effecting the Red Pine in your area? I understand the only place not heavily effected are Northern Honshu and Hokkaido.

  2. KenElwood Says:

    Ha ha ! This post had me laughing out loud. 🙂 Hang in there.

    Nice score on the wood, by the way.

    Cheers,

    ken

Leave a Reply

