Inching towards the end.

I am probably a week away from finishing the main part of the kiln. The pictures show the second coat of insulating mixture. On average it is about 26 cm. from the outside of the kiln to the actual hot face of the bricks.  There is one photo that shows the casting for the exit flue cover. It is about 13 cm. thick. The mixture I am using is difficult to quantify as my measurements are 6 buckets of IFB brick that I then crush. The weight varies and the buckets are the size of restaurant pickle buckets. They are actually buckets from my beer making kit, the primary fermenter and the secondary. I mix that with one wheelbarrow of clay like material, one bucket of fire mortar and concrete. In the sub-coating I put rice hulls into the mix.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

