Snake kiln side wall.

I am now building the walls that will act as side support for my snake kiln. The filler is plain dirt excavated when I dug the kiln mixed with about 15 kilos of rice hulls. I guess the proportion is about 225 kilos of dirt to 15 kilos of rice hull mixed with enough water so the mixer doesn’t stop. I am using a dry stack of regular red bricks as an outer wall and filling the space between the kiln wall and the red brick wall with the dirt mix. As I go higher with each course of red brick I am staggering the courses inward towards the kiln. In theory the rice hulls will burn out leaving air spaces that will act as insulating material.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

