Finished

I finally finished my show at Joyusha . For all my complaints it was a pleasant experience. I learned a few things about what it takes to sell at shows. Number one is that talking to the people who come to the show is not only important to the sales end of the equation but I felt strange if someone bought something and I hadn’t talked to them. The gallery is small, about 10 tatami mats, roughly 11.5 square meters.  The roof is low and the floor creaks with every step anyone takes. The total effect is of a delicate space that is too small for my towering 5 foot 5 inch  pacing presence.

I went to the gallery for a total of 5 days, two weekends and one weekday. The days I wasn’t there I had almost zero sales, the days I was there the sales were enough to make it worthwhile. The last hour of the last day a very attractive woman walked in, without hesitation took one long-necked bottle I had made that others had religiously ignored  and said she would buy it.  She then picked up a long narrow plate and said that since she had ordered tea she had to go downstairs and drink that and that if anyone came in to buy those two items I should come down immediately and tell her. I didn’t bother to tell her that even though those two pieces were among my favorites I seriously doubted anyone would swoop in to buy them.  She did buy them and in talking to her more found out she is a designer of commercials and was on a site hunting trip in Nara.

Back to building my kiln.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

