Yamaguchi preparation. To tea bowl or not to tea bowl.

I am done getting ready for the Yamaguchi Fair. The preparation took longer than usual because I had to get a lot of new works ready after my last firing.  It is a nice feeling to have a lot of new work to take.

This is the first time I am taking bowls that I made to be tea bowls. I have avoided the tea bowl pit and am still avoiding it. I won’t call these tea bowls but for all purposes they are. In actual fact there are some “technical” points that make them “not” tea bowls but for the majority of Japanese they will be seen as tea bowls.  I am keeping the best of the work for myself, I can’t stand to sell them and only have money to show for some very nice work.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

