Kiln.

I finished the kiln last night about 9:00 pm. It is cooling down now, at about 600 degrees in the second room. It will be cool enough to open next Sunday or so.

As I was bringing the second room up to temperature I saw I had, for the first time in about 30 firings, a collapsed shelf or two. One or so of the stilts that hold up the shelves fell. I think it happened late in the firing as the shelf didn’t crush the bowls below it which it would have done if they had still been green. I don’t bisque.

All together it took about 63 hours to fire, the second longest time. It usually takes about 30 hours.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

