Kimono auction

I had a fun day at  my first dealers kimono auction. Some of the items up for auction; a haori with swastikas (a symbol often seen in Japanese shrines); hachimaki,which are headbands that military men wear as they go off to war; Edo era kimono (1603-1868), a few of which I was able to win. I will be putting the items in the pictures below into my Etsy store in the next few days at very reasonable prices. If you would like to have an update on when I upload them I have set up a Twitter account here, http://twitter.com/togeii

My favorite image was of a guy that bought a kimono, took possession of it and started to walk back to the area where he put his purchases. Half way there he got interested in the next item up on the block,  threw his previous piece on the floor and went back up, won that one, started back to the back, got interested again, threw the new piece on top of the other piece to go back up to bid again. He had a small pile before he got back to fold everything up and put it away.

I came home with 5 Edo period children’s kimonos, 2 shibori kimonos, 3 gorgeous obis, about 10 bundles of Meiji beads and a load of other things.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Kimono auction”

  1. Melanie Says:

    The dealers’ auctions are fun! I used to have a blast there and learnt so much about the textiles and ages of pieces. Where abouts in Japan are you based?

  2. Kimono maniac « Says:

    […] woman runs in Kyoto. I have been once and plan to go back. The time I went I wrote this blog post, here. The prices at the auction are out of my range for some items but not all. The store she runs is […]

  3. Upcoming auction. « Says:

    […] Upcoming auction. By togeii There is a kimono auction coming up at the end of this month in Kyoto I am trying to decide if I should go to or not. I love to go to auctions but if I buy a bunch of stuff when I have a large amount of stock it doesn’t really make sense. I have been to the Kyoto auction before and wrote about it here. […]

Leave a Reply

