Antiques 1-24-09

I will only post this piece although I have some other really interesting pieces.

What is so interesting to me about this piece is it passed right under my nose and I didn’t see it. That might not sound unusual but the truth of the matter is I really think it is a masterpiece of the Momoyama era and I couldn’t recognize it as it passed by me on the way to the auction table.

I will first have to explain I go to  a certain auction every month on the 15th. The pieces to be auctioned make their way to the front by way of a circuitous route that passes all the participants. I tend to stand to the right side of the table as seen from my view, that is the table is to my right, more towards the front of the room. The pieces start their journey behind me and a little further back in the room. I have two chances to look as the baskets slowly make the journey. Picture me looking towards the front of the room to decide to bid and looking behind me at the upcoming pieces. The bidding sometimes only lasts 5-10 seconds, excluding the extra time it takes when I bid and win for everyone to chuckle at my name, which everyone seems to find endlessly amusing. So it isn’t beyond the realm of possibility I missed this piece but it would be one of the first as it is right in my ken.

It shows a very pleasant green in the inside bottom which indicates a very strong reduction during firing. It also has had extensive repairs but when I was taking pictures of it Mr. Kawase took some books out of his extensive library and showed me other similar pieces that are Important Cultural Properties that have the same or more repairs.

I decided to start studying tea for a little while because of this mizusashi. It would take a lot more writing to explain but this jar is the catalyst.

I have been participating and studying a lot on the Gotheborg.com site, http://www.gotheborg.com/. It is mainly focused on Chinese ceramics, Japanese ceramics are not the main area of interest. My studying has led me to a, for me, very interesting conclusion. Chinese ceramics are infinitely easier to understand for Europeans, read “Westerners” as the term is used here in Japan. As a side note, when I was doing my apprenticeship my teacher said the Far East looks a lot like Europe to him and I seemed more like an Easterner to him than a westerner. To him a Westerner looks a lot like a Chinese person.At the time I dismissed his comments as interesting but not worth a lot of consideration. As I have participated in Gotheborg I have come to see the depth to what he says.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

