Antiques 12-27-08

Here is an Oribe tea bowl dating from the beginning from the Edo Period. I think it is a little over wrought. There is really only one area that tea can be drunk out of this bowl.  Compare it to the Oribe tea bowl posted 0n 10-18-08.

I took a lot of pictures of the construction of the box. It is a very nicely constructed box with wooden pins holding it together. The calligraphy is also first class.

Lastly I have uploaded a link to a video I took today on how to tie a butterfly knot, chocho musubi, on a tea carrier box. The tea container, chaire, is a very nice Seto piece.

Click here for the video.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Antiques 12-27-08”

  1. kabuki Says:

    Hello Togeii,
    I wonder if you could help me: I am an absolute newcomer to the world of chawans. I bought a supposedly OHI Chawan with Ame-Yu glaze ( said to have been made around 30 years ago, in very good shape) . When water or tea is poured into it, the bowl starts emitting a rather unpleasant earthy/muddy smell, which rather takes away the pleasure of enjoying my tea. The basic research I was able to do mentions no such issues. I tried soaking and rinsing several times in clean water, without any success. Would you have any idea what the reason for this smell is and how to get rid of it ? Thank you,

    • togeii Says:

      Hello,
      It seems it might have been under-fired. The only thing I have heard to do for bowls that haven’t been used for a long time is to soak them overnight in sake. They smell like alcohol for a long time but that will eventually fade.
      Hope that helps.
      Dave

  2. kabuki Says:

    Hi Dave,
    Thanks for your note. I continued using this Ohi bowl regularly with plenty of rinsing. It seems to be working: the smell is now gone, after a bit more than a week. This method is also what the seller recommended in the meantime. Should this not have worked, I would definitely try the sake trick.

  3. Chiisana Hato Says:

    Thank you. I just received an antique chawan and also have a sencha set that emits the same kind of smell when used. I’ll give this solution a try!

Leave a Reply

