Even monks use clocks.

Way back in the day I attended a workshop at Humboldt State in California entitled “Ceremony Rooted in Ceremony and Ritual”, led by our fearless leader Marsha Red Hawk. Two years in a row. Lots of guest lecturers and hands on ceremony and performance. Onye Onyemachi who taught me I am a fire person; Carolee Schneemman from whom I learned the many uses of mayonnaise; a Native American story teller. The story teller is the one real wise man I have met in my life.

On one of these very touchy feely outings we went to some sand dunes with a time to meet back at an appointed spot. Of course one of the participants didn’t show up. After a frantic search the Late One rolled in and became the subject of our round table, conducted on the floor around candles, natch. One after another, each person lectured  the Late One  on the naughtiness of her ways or alternatively on how the clock was a regressive invention by the patriarchal hierarchy as a means to repress the working class and racial underclass. When it came to me I mentioned the time I had spent a month in a Thai monastery doing progressively more walking and sitting meditation. Start out with 6 hours, 3 hours sitting 3 hours walking in 20 minute segments. Progressing to 8 hours, 10 hours and ending in the final 3 days of no sleep, 12 hours walking  12 hours sitting. Wat Ram Poeng out side of Chaing Mai. The only thing to break ones concentration was the sound of the alarm clock that the monks living at the temple used to rouse them from their one hour long meditations.

Temple bell with clock.

Temple bell with clock.

I recently attended my third outdoor craft fair in Japan. I had to apply and submit a long application form. About 30% of applicants are rejected. The Nagahama fair is in its 22 year. About 10 years or so ago the city decided the kimono fabric industry that had long been the main craft needed to be expanded and embarked on a semi-private collaboration to launch a glass blowing industry. The fair is somewhat dominated by glass blowers.

I sold one small plate, 750 yen. That is the total. It is the worse by far of any of the three fairs I have participated in. I mainly go to meet people and get my work out. Up until this point I have focused on galleries but I have come to the  conclusion I don’t like the atmosphere and process of the gallery circuit. I think the more salt of the earth interactions at these fairs suits me. I am going to a big craft fair in Yamaguchi in a couple of weeks. Lets hope it is more successful.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

